Remembering 9/11

15 Sep

I chose to analyze the 9/11 anniversary content on National Geographic for this part of our assignment. There is an entire page full of various multimedia centered around the subject.

I believe the overall goal of the coverage is simple: to spark internal contemplation about the event, your own experiences, to give respect to the victims and their families and to exude a sense of patriotism.

The site itself and all of its facets are simple to navigate. There is nothing too innovative or flashy about it, but I respect it for that. In my opinion, it is extremely user friendly and those from eight to 80 would have no problem accessing it-as something like this should be.

The photo gallery titled “9/11: 25 Indelible Pictures” is full of iconic and chilling images that tell virtually the complete story of the events of the fateful day. The social media response was great: 2,000 likes and about 250 tweets just of the gallery. I found myself in tears at the end of the slideshow and I was thinking about my own experience of that day as well as feeling for those who were directly impacted. Suffice it to say, I think just that

The second photo gallery on the website is a combination of photos of survivors, their stories and artifacts from the day. Some of the stories easily give chills and I appreciated the text on top of just photos. There were social media icons of Facebook, Twitter and a more button which housed about a hundred different social media sites. I approved of their approach in that sense.

The “Global Origins” portion of the website was fascinating and educational, but not at all social media friendly. Though it is incredibly somber material included in this particular portion, the option to share should still be there.

On the left side of the website, there was an opportunity for visitors to log into their personal Facebook accounts and “tell their 9/11 story” on National Geographic’s Remembering 9/11 Facebook site. I chose not to go through with posting my story however, because it wasn’t a page-it was an app. I personally would have done something much different, like having them log into their account and being on National Geographic’s own Facebook page.

There are also dozens of videos from everything to timeline of the day, to George W. Bush’s retrospective thoughts on the day to Jon Stewart commentating a video on the future memorial center. On the bottom of the page are links to even more stories about 9/11 including conspiracy theories, to the making of a liquid bomb, to articles about Osama Bin Laden. While I thought further articles were a good idea, I didn’t appreciate some of the articles they chose to highlight at the bottom. For example, the making of the bomb article could have shown itself not on the main page, but after clicking on an article from the main page and offering it as a suggestion. It was well done, but for whatever reason it didn’t sit well with me being on the front page.

Links to books and DVDs and Nat Geo TV schedules all about the subject were also readily available on the site.

I appreciated how they honored the victims and it did cause me to do a lot of introspective thinking.

 

 

Leave a Reply

