mobile apps….and I don’t even have a smart phone.

22 Oct

The title is the truth. I own no smart phone, iPod or anything of the like. When I rented the iPad for class, it was complete unchartered territory. I actually just downloaded my first app aside from Pandora last week when we downloaded Instagram. That particular download started a mini-frenzy of app exploration. I downloaded apps from the New York Times, Cosmo, Self, The Weather Channel and Bank of America.

I will be the very first to admit that I am wholly inexperienced in the whiles of mobile apps and therefore use them for the simplest of purposes. I am slowly but surely becoming more acquainted and/or literate in such technology. As a hopeful PR professional, I have got to be more comfortable being in the swing of things (or at least not such a purist. I do in fact plan on purchasing a smart phone upon graduation :))   The only apps I use on a regular basis are as follows: Pandora, New York Times and Bank of America.

Pandora and Bank of America do what I need them to. Play my music stations and allow me to make transfers respectively. The Pandora app does however sometimes just fail to work which is frustrating. I’ve had to completely reboot my iPad twice just for the music to play. Existing Pandora users are definitely the target market for this app. It isn’t social at all-there isn’t a real option to share within the app. One of the unique traits to the app is the consistent biography of the artist playing. On the actual website, the info varies a bit more. Other than that, the two (the app and the website) are fairly similar. This app certainly does the trick without any useless frills. I would say monetized it is indeed.

The Bank of America app has the same practicality notion of the Pandora app. It leaves the user of the app with a fair sense of security because it has the exact same pass code steps as the actual website. Transfers, account status and all other on-the-go essentials are easy to use and obviously highly accessible. Bank of America is attempting to retain their customers by making banking with them as easy as can be. This app is certainly not social, as it an incredibly private matter-in no way should it be social. Can you imagine the option to post “I just transferred $1500 to my checking account” on Facebook?

My biggest critique of an app lies with The New York Times. While I believe that this app is the best of all print apps (comparing it to magazine apps, etc.), it was frustrating to use. It runs on a time frame-after a certain amount of browsing or clicking around on the app, it prompts the user to purchase a subscription for a fee. I could just use Safari to open the paper up on the web and not have to worry about it. It also doesn’t seem to have normal iPad capabilities (unless the very distinct possibility of me using it incorrectly) like being able to zoom in on pictures and the like.  The Times isn’t monetizing the app as it should. As much of the paper is available on the greater Web should be available on the app.

The easier and simpler a mobile app is, the more beneficial it becomes to the brand identity attempting to utilize it.

One Response to “mobile apps….and I don’t even have a smart phone.”

  1. fashion October 28, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

    very nice and informative post … thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

